Why Being Short is an Asset in Pickup, Part 2

Last time, I talked about how, if you’re short, space and position in the field are your friend. You can get closer to girls without weirding them out, and you can slide in between the spaces that taller guys operate in.

Now I’d like to talk about the emotional side of Short Guy Game. It’s my opinion that anything that could cause you to be embarrassed, but doesn’t, turns into an advantage. When you respond nonchalantly to challenges of this sort (someone attempting to tease you, for example), you gain even more status.

How does this apply to Short Guys? Well, any time someone tries to bring up my height, I just frame it how I want. If a guy is threatened by my game (happens pretty often) and has enough balls to challenge me directly (doesn’t happen often), with something like “Hey man the midget convention’s next door,” I will respond with a mischievous half-smile and something like “Hey man, you don’t have to feel insecure just because I’m shorter than you.”

Not only is that statement confusing, it’s also very dominant. Perfect to neutralize a guy who is trying to trip you up.

If a girl says something like “You’re too short for me” I might respond with something like “I’m the shortest guy in the world” and go back to what I was saying. That shows I’m comfortable with my height, which is by far the most important part of Short Guy Game.

Seriously, are you comfortable with your height? Anything you’re not comfortable with, your girl will pick up on, and also be uncomfortable with. So get that handled, bro. Do some reframing or use other psychological techniques to get comfortable with yourself on all levels.

During the description of the type of responses I give to guys who try to test me, I mentioned it doesn’t happen often. That is one of the huge advantages to being smaller. Guys just aren’t that intimidated by us, so they don’t get aggressive as often.

My taller wings have to deal with violent guys moderately often, and it is a waste of time. They would rather be talking to chicks and getting laid than having to diffuse some insecure drunk idiot. It’s not hard to do it if you know how, but it can be an annoyance. I’ve been physically challenged by guys only a handful of times in thousands of sets.

It’s much easier to work under the radar for us Short Guys. We can pull a girl in stealth mode. Stealth mode is virtually unheard-of for a guy like Brad P. He towers over the crowd so anything he does is public knowledge. Occasionally I like to run high-energy big game to get the maximum notice from a crowd too. But it’s great to be able to switch up techniques depending on the energy level of the venue, etc.

Lastly, any perceived disadvantage that you turn to an advantage is inherently attractive! In other words, the bar is lower, so when you have good game and you’re short, it’s doubly impressive and attractive. Girls think, rightly so, that overcoming what they see as obstacles is ballsy and sexy.

Just don’t let ’em know that being short is actually an advantage in pickup! It’s our secret.

3 Responses to “Why Being Short is an Asset in Pickup, Part 2”


  1. 1 Edward Boyd February 21, 2011 at 6:15 am

    I like these posts about being short is an Advantage. I used to believe it was a weakness but as time went by I got used to being short. I’m only 5’4.

    I look forward to reading part 3 🙂

  2. 2 Sam Davies March 12, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    Spot on. I’m five foot four and used to hate being short so much. Then I started going out and actually talking to women and I realised that all the hangups I had about it were pretty much just in my head.

    Being short makes you much less intimidating to a girl. This means you can get right into her personal space and escalate really hard right away. Before she even knows what’s going on you’re already making out with her.

    Tall girls are a problem because actually kissing them can be physically challenging. I have had some success with pulling them forcibly down to my height but its easier to just remember the opposite is also true. Short girls will feel intimidated and small next to a tall guy. This means you have an advantage that they don’t right off the bat, on top of the fact that you are generally less intimidating and more approachable.

    Other guys will try to put you down by making comments about your height. I like to say something like “I’m not short I’m the right size, everyone else is just too goddamn tall”. If they push it it makes them look like a total idiot in front of the girls, and that makes you look better by comparison. Then you are in there.

    Style was only 5ft6 and he did it. Height makes a difference in the playground at school. Well grow up kids, we’re not in the playground anymore and the huge morons that picked on you there are now flipping burgers for a living and probably married to some ugly bitch. Girls don’t give a shit, if you have balls and good game and you show it you will be ten feet tall in their mind (one girl’s actual words to me).


Leave a Reply

What I Can Offer You

I do one-on-one instruction in addition to the workshops I teach. Also, I'm available for phone consultations. Call Drew at BradP.com for details:
+1 (702) 516-8879

Check out the Brad P workshop schedule here.

Here is what some students have said about their experiences coaching with me:

"Brad, along with LA Phil, were probably the best, most accurate, most perceptive, most caring, most concerned, most legit teachers I have ever had. I am so fucking impressed."

"LA Phil has some insanely strong inner game, which really shines through with how he handles shit tests from girls."

"LA Phil just kept very positive and kept reframing everything into the positive of what I could do and then move forward from there. He never talked down to me or took any misstep as a blow to his ego as a teacher."

"I would recommend that anyone take a 1 on 1 with LA Phil to get their game evaluated, sized up, and improved and to see some great examples of someone who really has this down to a T."

"LA Phil and Jake P are simply phenomenal, both in skill and in coaching."

"LA Phil is a great coach . . . He helped fix my voice tonality and body positioning when opening girls. He was really good at pushing me into difficult sets."

"Go for a one-on-one with LA Phil. You will improve drastically after one session as long as you stay focused and aware."

Brad P.

Voted #1 Pickup Artist in the World


